Evans Slip and Fall Lawyer
Colorado property owners should know that they could be held liable if they fail to adequately and safely maintain their property. If they fail to maintain a safe environment, their guests may be highly susceptible to a slip and fall injury. Whether a grocery store ignores a spill, a medical office fails to shovel ice from a walkway, or a restaurant leaves a rip in a rug unfixed, anyone who is injured could be entitled to compensation.
If you have suffered an injury due to a slip and fall and wish to obtain compensation, contact a trusted injury attorney today. An Evans slip and fall lawyer may be able to help you achieve a favorable outcome for your case.
What Damages Could a Slip and Fall Plaintiff Receive?
Damages are what the financial compensation of the injured individual are based upon. Most plaintiffs would claim economic and non-economic damages with the help of an Evans slip and fall lawyer.
Economic damages already have an assigned value. These include medical expenses, lost wages, property damage, legal expenses, and other incidental expenses related to the slip and fall.
Non-economic damages are typically more difficult to prove and to assign a value. They are subjective and might include:
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of consortium
- Mental anguish
- Loss of a bodily function
- Loss of a career
Pain and Suffering Damage Caps Apply
Slip and fall plaintiffs in Colorado should note that there is a damage cap on their pain and suffering damages. These specific damages are limited to $250,000, plus an allowance for inflation each year, with only a few exceptions. As of 2018, the cap was $468,010, as found in Colorado Revised Statutes §13-21-102.5(3)(a).
Two-Year Filing Deadline for Slip and Fall Lawsuits
Victims who sustained an injury in a slip and fall accident might want to know that their legal right to file a lawsuit is not indefinite. In fact, there is a two-year statute of limitations which can be found in Colorado Revised Statutes §13-80-102(1)(a). Potential plaintiffs in a slip and fall lawsuit have two years from the date of their injury, or in some cases, the date of discovering their injury to file their injury claim.
If the lawsuit is filed after the expiration of the statute of limitations, the defendant could request that the courts remove the case on the basis of being time-barred. The judge would have no choice but to comply with the request of the defendant, leaving the plaintiff without any legal recourse for their damages.
Call a Compassionate Evans Slip and Fall Attorney
Sustaining an injury is usually always painful and frustrating. However, sustaining an injury due to the negligence of a property owner makes the situation even more of a burden. A compassionate Evans slip and fall lawyer could help ease that burden by providing you the legal representation you need and deserve after such an injury. Your attorney could build a case that clearly shows a jury and the defendant how they are liable for the injuries and damages you now suffer.
Every day that you do not call brings you one day closer to losing your legal right to seek justice. Pick up the phone and call today to get your case started.