Denver Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
Were you recently injured at work? Do you want to file a claim for workers’ compensation, but are unsure about the process? If so, contact a Denver workers’ compensation lawyer today.
Workers’ compensation benefits are available to most employees who are hurt or fall ill on the job. However, filing for workers’ compensation is notoriously complicated, and many legitimate claims are initially rejected.
Rather than handling your claim alone, call an experienced personal injury attorney who can help you through the process. If you live in the Denver area, and are ready to learn more about claiming workers’ compensation, contact a lawyer now. En Español.
What Is Workers’ Compensation?
Workers’ compensation laws are designed to protect employees who get hurt at their job sites. These benefits help injured workers manage the financial stresses that often accompany serious injury or illness.
Workers’ compensation coverage is a type of insurance that employers provide for their employees and may be obtained through the assistance of a Denver workers’ compensation lawyer. Every employer in Colorado is required to provide workers’ compensation insurance, both for part-time and full-time employees.
Injured workers who have an admitted workers’ compensation claim may receive payments to partially replace wages lost due to their injury or illness. Workers’ compensation also covers qualified medical expenses related to the injury or illness.
Compensation Claim Process in Denver
Filing for a workers’ compensation claim is different from filing a civil lawsuit. In fact, many workers’ compensation laws are also designed to generally protect employers from such lawsuits related to on-the-job injuries.
Injured or sick employees are generally only entitled to file for workers’ compensation and cannot later make a claim against their employer for negligence; such double recovery is barred by laws in the state of Colorado. Employees injured on the job should notify their employer and get medical treatment right away.
Are Employees Required to Report their Injuries?
Employees are required to formally report their injuries to their employer in writing within four days of the accident. State law then requires that the employer report any on-site injuries to the workers’ compensation insurance company within 10 days of the accident.
Obtaining Medical Care From an Authorized List of Healthcare Providers
Injured employees can seek medical care from an authorized list of healthcare providers designated by the employer or workers’ compensation carrier. If a workers’ claim for compensation has been filed with the Division of Workers’ Compensation, the insurance company must accept or reject such claim within 20 days.
Appealing a Denial of Workers’ Compensation Benefits
An employer’s workers’ compensation insurance company determines whether or not an injured or sick employee receives their benefits. Too often, insurance companies deny legitimate claims. In some cases, a benefits denial is due to an employer’s failure to report the injury, even when the employee properly notified them. In other cases, the insurance company may simply disbelieve the employee and reject their claim.
Regardless of why a claim is rejected, employees can appeal that decision to the insurance company. However, these appeals are complex and can be hard to manage alone while recovering from an injury or illness.
Workers whose benefits claims were denied should contact a Denver work injury compensation lawyer immediately. An attorney can advocate for the worker and appeal the insurance company’s decision.
A Denver Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Can Help
If you were recently hurt on the job, or if your benefits were denied, call a Denver workers’ compensation lawyer now. Do not wait; contact an experienced lawyer today to discuss your claim. A skilled attorney could help you understand your legal options and pursue the compensation you deserve.